SHS Summer Social 2010


SHS '59 Summer Social 8-21-2010

I attended the Springfield High School Class of ’59 Summer Social in Eugene last Saturday.  It was special for me since I missed my 50th reunion last year and I hadn’t seen some of these classmates in over 50 years.  I was surprised that I recognized a lot of them even if we weren’t particularly close friends while in school.  The event started out at Roaring Rapids Pizza (used to be Pietro’s) just across the Springfield Bridge.  There were about 100 people there, I didn’t count them but someone mentioned that figure and it seems about right.  That’s pretty good since there were probably less than 300 in our graduating class and that was over 50 years ago.  After about three hours of drinking beer and shouting in each other’s ears, we moved to Pat Roberts’ palatial estate near Autzen Stadium and continued for another couple of hours.  I say shouting in each other’s ears because there were a lot of old men there that were pushing 70 years old.  Go figure. 

I’d only been to one reunion, my 20th in 1979, so it was pretty special going to this event.  I had gone to a monthly class get-together last February but there were only a couple dozen classmates at that one.  At this age, these things are bound to get smaller and smaller and the classmates you miss you may never get the chance to see again.  One thing that I found especially rewarding is that I didn’t have any issues with any of my classmates and so I was completely open to reconnecting with everyone.  That wasn’t necessarily the case 50 years ago but it certainly is now.  

Who are these old guys?

I gained a few Facebook friends and caught up on the history of people that have been a part of my life and in my thoughts over the years.  Some of that information was not welcome but we can’t do much about that and it is a part of life that is constantly gaining in importance now.  I’m probably a little more interested in these past relationships because I’ve spent some time reflecting on them for postings in Chronospots.  

I had some really enjoyable conversations and it was a lot of fun reconnecting with my classmates.  I hope to keep as many as possible in my life from now on. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “SHS Summer Social 2010”


  1. […] SHS Summer Social 2010  August 24, […]


Leave a Reply

